About us

The idea behind amphiro.

In 2009, Amphiro AG was founded as an ETH spin-off by Thomas Stiefmeier and Thorsten Staake together with their doctoral thesis supervisors, Gerhard Tröster and Elgar Fleisch. The four founders were united in the conviction that information on consumption patterns would provide great added value for numerous applications in the future. Hot water was quickly identified, as this was an area with an extremely high potential for energy savings – and one that made other developers shy away from the medium of water.

As early as 2012, Amphiro received its first order of over 6,000 shower consumption meters from the Zurich energy provider ewz – and that was even before the first challenge was solved: Batteries and power connections needed to be replaced by a sustainable source of energy to ensure simple installation and economic operation.

Work then began to really take off: Patents were lodged and numerous prototypes were developed. In 2012, Amphiro gained Flextronics as a production partner.

The Swiss Federal Office Energy supported the first Amphiro study by ETH Zurich and the University of Lausanne, with the effect of real-time feedback on the consumer being explored. The savings documented here significantly exceeded expectations: 452 kWh for an average household (2.1 persons) annually – on a permanent basis. With these results, amphiro a1 basic proved to be the most effective feedback instrument ever investigated by the institute.

Expansion and development.

Pilot projects followed with large companies in Switzerland (supported by Swiss Mobiliar), in Singapore (with the Public Utility Board), the Netherlands (with PWN) and South Korea (with KEMCO). All the studies were conducted by high-class research teams and all confirmed the results.

At the same time, manufacturers and households increasingly became interested in the subject of smart homes and the team grew accordingly.

In 2015, Amphiro gained Swiss Mobiliar as an investor and continued to expand the areas smart home and sales. In May 2016, the amphiro b1 connect was launched onto the market as the second product. It synchronises data with smartphones and the amphiro cloud.

In July 2018, the Finnish faucet manufacturer Oras Group secured the majority stake in Amphiro. This gave Amphiro excellent access to the European faucet and fittings market. Together, the companies will drive the development of innovative products and services in the areas of health, comfort and sustainability.

The team.

Team

Thomas Stiefmeier, Co-Founder, CEO and VR
Samuel Schöb, CTO
Jonas Wirz, Head of Electronics Development
Ganesh Ramanathan, Electronics Development
Martina Nissen, Marketing & Customer Support
Christoph Steinberger, Marketing & Customer Support
Sarah Appeldorn, Customer Support and Fulfilment
Nadja Bernegger, Administration and Finances
Valentina Betschart, Customer Support
Susanne Häcki, Innovation Manager, Mobiliar

VR & Co-Founders

Thorsten Staake, Co-Founder, VRP and Professor of Energy Efficient Systems, University of Bamberg
Thomas Stiefmeier, Co-Founder, CEO and VR
Kai Millarg, Co-Founder via UC Tec and VR
Gerhard Tröster, Co-Founder and Professor of Electronics at ETH Zurich
Andreas Brülhart, VR and Innovation Manager at Swiss Mobiliar

Scientific advisors

Dr Verena Tiefenbeck, ETH Zurich and University of Bonn, Scientific Advisor
Anna Kupfer, University of Bamberg, Scientific Advisor
Liliane Ableitner, ETH Zurich, Scientific Advisor

Current vacancies.

The Amphiro AG is looking for new employees.
For more information, please refer to the following job advertisement:

 

In the press.

BFE Publication

Conscientious Showerers Take Shorter Showers

People who track the amount of water and energy consumed during showers, thanks to a ‘live’ display on the shower head, shower sparingly. This is the main thrust of an empirical study by Dr. Verena Tiefenbeck at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH), Zurich. The study has implications beyond the actual subject matter: it supports the assumption that real-time feedback can make a significant contribution to more economical energy use. Technical report: www.bfe.admin.ch/CT/divers

Über uns

Die Idee hinter amphiro.

2009 gründeten Thomas Stiefmeier und Thorsten Staake gemeinsam mit ihren Doktorvätern Gerhard Tröster und Elgar Fleisch die Amphiro AG als ETH Spin-off. Die vier Gründer verband die Überzeugung, dass Informationen zum Verbrauchsverhalten in Zukunft grossen Mehrwert für zahllose Anwendungen bieten werden. Der Bereich Warmwasser war schnell identifiziert, da sich hier extrem hohe Energiesparpotentiale bieten – und andere Entwickler vor dem Medium Wasser zurückschreckten.

2012 erhielt Amphiro bereits die erste Bestellung über 6’000 Verbrauchsanzeigen für die Dusche vom Zürcher Energieversorger ewz – und das bevor die erste Herausforderung gelöst war: Batterien und Netzanschlüsse sollten für eine einfache Installation und einen wirtschaftlichen Betrieb durch eine nachhaltige Energiequelle ersetzt werden.

Jetzt ging die Arbeit richtig los: Patente wurden eingereicht und zahlreiche Prototypen entwickelt. 2012 gewann Amphiro Flextronics als Produktionspartner.

Das Bundesamt für Energie unterstützte die erste Amphiro-Studie der ETH Zürich und der Universität Lausanne. Untersucht wurde die Wirkung von Echtzeit-Feedback auf den Verbrauch. Die damit belegten Einsparungen übertrafen die Erwartungen deutlich: 452 kWh pro Jahr und durchschnittlichen Haushalt (2,1 Personen) – und das dauerhaft. amphiro a1 basic war damit das wirkungsvollste Feedback-Instrument in Gebäuden, das bisher untersucht wurde.

Ausbau und Entwicklung.

Es folgten Pilotprojekte mit grossen Unternehmen in der Schweiz (mit Unterstützung der Schweizerischen Mobiliar), in Singapur (mit dem Public Utility Board), den Niederlanden (mit PWN) und Südkorea (mit KEMCO). Alle Studien wurden von hochklassigen Forscherteams begleitet, und alle bestätigen die Ergebnisse.

Parallel dazu stieg das Interesse von Herstellern und Haushalten am Thema Smart Home, und zeitgleich wuchs auch das Team.

2015 gewann Amphiro die Schweizerische Mobiliar als Investor und baut den Bereich Smart Home sowie den Vertrieb weiter aus. Im Mai 2016 kam amphiro b1 connect als zweites Produkt, welches Daten mit Smartphones und der amphiro cloud synchronisiert, auf den Markt.

Im Juli 2018 sicherte sich der finnische Armaturen-Hersteller Oras Group die Anteilsmehrheit an Amphiro. Dadurch gewann Amphiro einen hervorragenden Zugang zum europäischen Armaturen-Markt. Gemeinsam werden die Unternehmen die Entwicklung innovativer Produkte und Dienstleistungen in den Bereichen Gesundheit, Komfort und Nachhaltigkeit vorantreiben.

Das Team.

Team

Valentina Betschart,  Customer Support
Sarah Betz, geb. Appeldorn, Customer Support and Fulfillment
Sara Frei, Administration and Finances
Rami Audisho Jajo, Embedded Systems Design
Matthias Niederberger, Software Development
Martina Nissen, Marketing & Customer Support
Célia Raposo, Mechatronic Design
Samuel Schöb, CTO
Dr. Thomas Stiefmeier, Co-Founder, CEO and Board Member

VR & Mitgründer

Dr. Markus Lengauer, Board Member and Chairman of the Board of Oras Group
Dr. Kai Millarg, Co-Founder via UC Tec and Managing Partner at Intellion
Janne Rautavuouri, Chairman of the Board and CTO of Oras Group
Dr. Thorsten Staake, Co-Founder, Board Member and Professor of Information Systems, University of Bamberg
Dr. Thomas Stiefmeier, Co-Founder, CEO and Board Member
Dr. Gerhard Tröster, Co-Founder and Professor Emeritus of Electronics at ETH Zurich
Michael Wirthle, Board Member and Group Business Controller of Oras Group

Scientific Advisors

Dr. Elgar Fleisch, Professor of Information Management, ETH Zurich and Unversity of St. Gallen
Carlo Stingl, Researcher, University of Bamberg 
Dr. Verena Tiefenbeck, Professor of Digital Transformation, FAU Erlangen Nürnberg, Bits to Energy Lab, ETH Zurich

In der Presse.

Publikation des Bundesamts für Energie (BFE):
Wer bewusst duscht, duscht kürzer

Wer dank einer Anzeige an der Duschbrause ‚live‘ mitverfolgen kann, wieviel Wasser und Energie er während des Duschens verbraucht, der duscht sparsamer. Das ist die Haupterkenntnis einer empirischen Studie von Dr. Verena Tiefenbeck an der Eidgenössisch-Technischen Hochschule (ETH) Zürich. Die Untersuchung hat Bedeutung über den eigentlichen Studiengegenstand hinaus: Sie stützt die Vermutung, dass Echtzeit-Feedback einen erheblichen Beitrag zu einem sparsameren Umgang mit Energie leisten kann. Fachartikel unter: www.bfe.admin.ch/CT/divers

 

Jungfrau Zeitung:
Im Doldenhorn leben Eisbären länger

Im Kandersteger Viersternhaus sorgt ein Messgerät dafür, dass beim Warmwasserverbrauch Energie gespart wird. Der Versuch der Innovationsförderung der Mobiliar ist erfolgreich. Unter anderem wegen des Symbols des Nordpolbewohners, dessen Scholle bei schonendem Verbrauch erhalten bleibt.
Im Doldenhorn leben Eisbären länger